ROSOND: Bursaries 2023

ROSOND is inviting students to apply for Bursary Programme 2023 academic year.

Bursary Application Closing Date: 19 September 2022

Rosond Bursaries 2023

Bursaries will be awarded to students residing within target areas, in Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, North-West, and Northern-Cape provinces, for studies within the following fields:

  • Data Science
  • Engineering
  • Finance
  • Geology
  • Information Technology
  • Management
  • Mining
  • Supply Chain


Applicants must satisfy the following minimum entry criteria before applying (please note that failure to meet all the requirements will lead to your application not being considered):

  • You must be between the ages of 18 and 28 years old
  • You must have completed Matric
  • You must be studying full-time towards a qualification in one of the fields of study listed above
  • You must be in your 2nd or 3rd year of study
  • You must be studying at a recognised and accredited tertiary institution in South Africa
  • You must have achieved a minimum overall average of 50% to 60%
  • You must reside in one of the following areas/ municipalities:
    • Gauteng: City of Johannesburg Metropolitan Municipality: Soweto, Ekurhuleni Local Municipality (Mayibuye, Phomolong, Tembisa, Rabie Ridge, Kaalfontein, Ivory Park, Klipfontein), West Rand District Municipality: Kagiso, Carletonville (Kokosi, Greens Park, Wedela, Simunye, Bekkersdal, Hillshaven, Glenharvie, Poortjie, Mohlakeng/ Randfontein, Blybank)
    • KwaZulu-Natal: Richards Bay, Mbonambi, Sokhulu, Dube, and surrounding areas
    • Limpopo: Thabazimbi Local Municipality: Regorogile (Ext 1 to 7), Apiesdoring 9 (Thabazimbi x 12), Smash Block Informal Settlement, Jabulani Informal Settlement: Northam, Rooiberg, Setaria, Rajputi (Leeupoort)
    • North West: Moses Kotane Municipality (Mogwase), Baphalane Villages (Ramokoka/ Phalane, Bojating, Mmorogong, Mantserre, Phadi/ Pylkop, Tweelaagte), Local Bafokeng Villages (Bobua Mpya, Chaneng, Freedom Park, Kanana, Lefaragatlhe, Lesung, Luka/ Mogono, Luke South, Mabitse, Mafenya, Maika, Maile/ Diepkuil), Bakgatla Ba Kgafela Villages (Moruleng 0318, Lesetlheng 0374, Disake, Mokgalwaneng, Matlametlong, Ngweding, Ramoshi Botswana, Mopane, Kraalhoek)
    • Northern Cape: Boichoko, Newtown, Maranteng, White City, Stasie, Postdene, Carrination, Groenwater, Danielskuil, Janhaven, Maremane, Skuyfontein, Griekwastad, Lewatle, Mapoteng, Olifantshoek, Kathu, Deben, Babatas

How to apply

Students who meet all of the eligibility criteria can apply by submitting clear copies of the following supporting documentation (the submission of these documents is compulsory – if any items are missing, your application may be disqualified):

  • ID document (certified copy)
  • Matric certificate (certified copy)
  • Full academic record/ academic transcripts (certified copy)
  • Current financial statement from your institution (on institutions letterhead)
  • Proof of registration at a tertiary institution (on institutions letterhead)
  • Motivational letter to support your application and motivate why you should be awarded the bursary
  • Proof of address in one of the above areas
  • Parents or guardians proof of total household income (latest payslips or bank statements if employed, affidavit if unemployed, proof of SASSA grant/ disability grant/ other grant or pension if applicable, death certificate if deceased)

Note: there is no application form to be completed for this bursary application – students need only submit the list of the above documents to apply.

Applications must be submitted electronically via email to: (Insert the words “Rosond Bursary Application” in the email subject line).

You may also like...