Municipal Demarcation Board of South Africa

In South Africa, the Municipal Demarcation Board (MDB) is an independent authority in charge of delimiting the boundaries of South African districts and municipalities and the boundaries of the electoral wards within those municipalities.

The Board was envisaged in section 155.(2)(b) of the Constitution, and created by the Local Government: Municipal Demarcation Act, 1998.

The board consists of ten board members, appointed by the President for a five-year term.

Except for the chairperson, the members of the Board serve on a part-time basis. There is also a small support staff for administration and research.

Board Members

The current board members of the Municipal Demarcation Board were announced on Thursday 29 February 2024, after being appointed by President Cyril Ramaphosa.

The Board appointment took effect on Friday 1 March 2024, for five years ending February 2029.

The members are undoubtedly empowered to execute their governance and statutory roles efficiently and effectively to lead the MDB to greater heights.

Below are the board members of the Municipal Demarcation Board;

  • Mr Thabo Moses Manyoni (Chairperson of the MDB Board)
  • Dr David Matheakuena Mohale (Deputy Chairperson of the MDB Board)
  • Ms Gabisile Gumbi-Masilela
  • Ms Ntombekaya Leticia Baart
  • Mr Pascal Paul Moloi
  • Professor Susanna Gertruida Bouillon
  • Mr Sibongiseni Mduduzi Maseko
  • Ms Marcia Thabisile Mabuza
  • Ms Edith Margaret Tukakgomo
  • Dr Udeshtra Pillay

Executive Management

  • Mr Manye Moroka (Chief Executive Officer)
  • Mr Aluwani Ramagadza (Chief Operations Officer)
  • Ms Nono Bapela (Executive Manager: Corporate Services)
  • Ms Nthabeleng Khabutlane (Chief Financial Officer)


  • Mr Fazel Hoosen (Senior Manager: Core Operations)
  • Ms Barileng Dichabe (Senior Manager: Stakeholder Management and Communication)
  • Mr Thabiso Plank (Senior Manager: Office of the Chairperson)
  • Dr Paul Radikonyana (Senior Manager: Advisory & Research)
  • Mr Dan Sebaka (Senior Manager: Operations Technology)
  • Ms Kgadi Monama (Senior Manager: Human Resources and Administration)
  • Ms Nikiwe Chauke (Board Secretary)